Five Mavericks Named to 2017 All-Summit Soccer Teams

Eleven Omaha players were named to the 2017 All-Summit League Men’s Soccer Teams; the conference office announced Wednesday evening.

The first team included five Mavericks: senior midfielder Xavier Gomez, senior forward Emmanuel Hamzat, sophomore forward Elvir Ibisevic, sophomore defender Seth Rinderknecht and senior defender Jacob Weiler.  Two more UNO players were named to the second team: senior goalkeeper Joseph Ghitis and junior midfielder Cole Nelson.  Four additional Mavericks were placed on the all-newcomer team: senior midfielder Brahan Gamarra, freshman midfielder Miguel Gomez, freshman midfielder Diego Gutierrez and freshman defender Stevie Siy.

Omaha hosts this weekend’s Summit League Men’s Soccer Championship and is the tournament’s No. 3 seed.  The Mavericks face No. 2 seed Western Illinois on Thursday, Nov. 9 at 5 p.m. at Caniglia Field.